Ciao, November!

Don’t let the door hit your bad-luck-bringing behind on your way out!

I am a pessimist. If there is a small grey cloud the size of a M&M on the horizon, I am convinced that it brings days of rain. That being said, despite my pessimism I have a certain buoyancy. I see that teeny cloud and think: Ugh, it’s going to rain for days!! Short on the heels of that then follows my buoyancy: Never mind, that’s what umbrellas are for.

That I’ll never run out of my supply of pessimism is a given. That I would ever run out of my deep supply of buoyancy, I would never have guessed!

November summary:

First thing to break was the toaster.

Second thing was the coffee machine. Only a ‘no biggie’ because of the electric kettle.

The sandwich maker takes spot number three.

The life-saving kettle (see #2) was number four.

The printer was next.

Add to that the terrible cold I had and The Incident with my finger.

All things I could live with, that would pass, and that were easy and not expensive to replace.  The straw that broke the back of the Buoyancy Camel was my sewing machine.

The Tumbler quilt was pinned and basted…

Then this happened – over and over and over again.

I fiddled with the stitch settings, I fiddled with both the top and bottom tension, I even fiddled with the tension setting on the bobbin casing. Nothing helped. I had to unpick stitches on that quilt countless times. No way am I having this sewing machine repaired. I’m buying a new one. Four days of unpicking and Language will do that to a person.

After that depressing bit of reading, something a little more cheerful. Look how neat and pretty the gnome blocks look after being squared up.

Come on, December! Bring me some normality and a smattering of good luck! Please?

Till next time,

Miss Thimble

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Ciao, November!

  1. No wonder you’re happy to say good-bye to November!! Don’t let the door hit you in the…you know how that ends! At least you’ll get a new sewing machine out of it…

    BTW…the gnomes are so cute!

  2. Deb

    Oh no… that means that December will be full of goodness right? Have fun picking out a new machine.

  3. Hope you find just the s.m. of your dreams! Sorry about all the mishaps… but as Scarlett said, “… tomorrow is another day”. lol. Love your little gnomes. So darn cute!

  4. I can’t believe that tomorrow is December 1! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving me such nice comments! I appreciate it! :0)

  5. What super cute little Gnomes.
    Let me know if you ever find out what causes this annoying machine issue, as I was having similar and couldn’t work out the source.
    E

Leave a Reply

