Busy weekend ahead

Exactly what the title says – this is going to be a busy weekend here at Casa Thimble! (Busy, but fun!)

Remember the Tumbler quilt top I made a while ago? I wanted to do a simple brown backing, but then thought that it might be too bland and boring. Luckily, I managed to snag 2 yards of Pure Cocoa Argyle after searching online long and hard, so over the weekend the plan is to quilt and bind this.

At the moment I am busy squaring up the Gnome paper pieced blocks. I love paper piecing, but the down side of paper piecing by hand, is unpicking all the threads and digging out the paper pieces. It seems to take forever, and it’s  no fun. At all.

The blocks (when made to a T) are supposed to be 4″ x 8″ when done, but because I wanted 7″ x 7 ” blocks, I used larger pieces of fabric for the background. That means a lot of cutting and snipping. I’ve only neatened the bottoms thus far, but decided to blog first, and cut later. (Sounds like an ad… Blog First! Cut Later!)

Other things on my To Do list for the weekend:

* Write Christmas Cards (I always write them last weekend in November)

* Work on Home For Christmas. (Pieces already ironed on)

Time for me to get back to cutting and measuring! Wishing you a fantastic weekend, with at least a few hours of sewing fun squeezed in.

Till next time,

Miss Thimble.

6 Comments

Filed under Applique, Charm Pack, Christmas, Paper Piecing, Quilting, Sewing, Stitching

6 responses to “Busy weekend ahead

  1. Deb

    Perfect backing fabric for your beautiful tumbler quilt! Have a great weekend of sewing…

  2. That fabric is perfect for the back of your tumblers! And I love your little gnomes! :0)

  3. LOVE the b/g fabric you’ve choosen – it’s perfect! Your gnomes are so cute.

  4. I can only agree, the tumblers look great and the backing is a good match. This is my first visit to your blog and I enjoyed reading about your projects. Hope you’ll be posting a photo of the tumbler quilt when it’s quilted and bound.

  5. Love that house applique- so cute!

Leave a comment