Gnome Workshop

Paper piecing is something I really, really enjoy. That being said, it’s been a long time since I made a quilt made up of, or even containing a single paper pieced block.

When I came upon this over at the Artisania blog many moons ago – I promptly decided to make a quilt featuring these cute little guys. I made a few, but always ended up doing something else with the blocks – from hotpads to pillows. When I took them out this morning to see how many I have, there were only four. Four? I need 16 for the quilt I planned!

For a change, the sun is out and the sky is clear, so I’ve set myself up in the sun room to start working on the blocks.

As you can see, I’m not one of those people that paper piece so neatly that there are only stitches on the back. Not me. Nu-uh. I go crazy with tacking, especially on smaller pieces, to make sure those bitty paper pieces  stay where they are supposed to.

Somewhere there is a paper piecing teacher clutching her pearls and fainting at the sight of these crudely tacked blocks.

Sorry, Paper Piecing Marm, I wasn’t in your class – I had to teach myself, so you go ahead and faint. I’ll go fetch the smelling salts…

Till next time,

Miss Thimble

5 Comments

Filed under Paper Piecing, Quilting, Sewing

5 responses to “Gnome Workshop

  1. They’re so cute! :0)

  2. Let ‘er faint! These guys are adorable!

  3. Deb

    I enjoy paper piecing too, it’s fun being able to make those tiny pieces! It always takes me awhile to get familiar with it again, so like to work at for a few days at a time. Very cute project.

  4. I have a couple of gnomes living in my garden, so I love these little guys! I’ve not tried paper piecing yet–I’m a chicken. I am eager to see your finished quilt. Maybe then I’ll be inspired to take the plunge–

    • Paper piecing isn’t all that complicated! It looks intimidating, but isn’t. 🙂 The gnome blocks are as easy as they come. Few, and simple pieces. Give it a try – you may surprise yourself!

Leave a Reply

